Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC:

Family research leads to Ladysmith 9 years 1 month ago #25127

• Damon Corr
  • Damon Corr's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh recruit
  • Fresh recruit
  • Thank you received: 1
My name's Damon and I've just joined this fascinating site. I'm quite new to the history of the Boer War and there's a good reason why I'm here.

It started with a family tree and discovering my grandfather Sidney Alexander Corr (of Belfast) was born in Fyzabad in 1902 and that his elder brother Robert James was born in Ladysmith on September 26th 1899. At that stage I had no idea of the events that were soon to follow at Ladysmith and left research in to 'Uncle Bob's birthplace until later while I explored his lengthy army career that started as a private soldier of the Royal Irish Rifles in 1914 with continous service until discharge as Major as the end of the second world war.

It was evident that his father James Corr was also a soldier of the RIR having attested in 1883, lying about his age (he was born in summer 1867) and serving until discharge in 1904, although at the unlikely age of 48 he joined up for two more years in 1916 and was immediately reinstated as substantive Colour Sergeant. Anyway the point is that I have uncertainty about which battalion my great grandfather James served with because from reading the RIR history it's not definitively stated anywhere that there were any RIR within Ladysmith in Sept 1899 but for Uncle Bob to have been born there there was certainly the wife (Jane Corr) of an RIR soldier in the town.

That sent my research from being one of family tree to one of much wider interest in the conflict in South Africa.

Meanwhile I still remain a little confused as to how Uncle Bob was born in Ladysmith at that time when it seems that the RIR were all elsewhere.

If anyone in the know can give me some direction with this I'd be extremely grateful.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.