Article Index


The units listed below are shown in the order of precedence as of July 1881.  Prior to 1881, infantry regiment were known by the numbers in the column on the right.  Where infantry units are followed by two numbers, the numbers represent regiments that were amalgamated to form the new unit.  For example, the Royal Dublin Fusiliers were formed from the 102nd Royal Madras Fusiliers and the 103rd Royal Bombay Fusiliers.  This page also contains more information on Cardwell's reforms.

Except for the 15th Hussars and the 4th Royal Irish Dragoon Guards, every regiment or corps in the British Army served in the Boer War.  In the case of some infantry regiments, only one of their two battalions was present.


Only registered users can post comments