• Page:

TOPIC:

Research & genealogy, H Wade 9 years 3 weeks ago #26765

• Dawnh
  • Dawnh's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh recruit
  • Fresh recruit
  • Thank you received: 0
Hi, I am new to all this so any help would be appreciated.

I am researching H Wade
Trooper 1838, Imperial Light Horse, ME (Medal Clasp Entitlement) and L (Ref to written source)
Trooper 1276, Imperial Light Horse, ME / L
Trooper 13, Protectorate Regiment FF, ME / L (Battle of Mafeking)

I have also attached a copies of 2 documents, any help on explanation of the info would help
!. Protectorate Unit. It says he joined the protectorate unit on the 15.8.99, discharged 9.9.00 c of f (not sure what the c of f is for). There is also a written note but I cannot make out what it is but there is a date 24.7.00. Any help on this would also be appreciated.
2. Imperial Light Horse

From the information I have been able to source so far, it is led to believe H Wade was my great grandfather. I am trying to get information on his birth, parentage etc and the only lead I have so far is that he served in the Boer War.

On the casus-belli.uk site, there are a number of options to choose from with regards to information, but I am not sure which will be my best option to purchase or if there is another site where I can further my research.

On Harry Wade's death notice, it says he was European and born in Karachee India, born 29 Sept 1879. I am not sure if he immigrated to South Africa and then joined the Colonial units of the British Army. If this is the case, where would I begin to research his immigration to South Africa? On others sources of information it says he was born in England, so my search has not been an easy one.

Any help would be appreciated :)
Dawn
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Research & genealogy, H Wade 9 years 3 weeks ago #26771

• LinneyI
  • Thank you received: 1541
Dawn