Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

He has given me complete satisfaction... Robert Fyfe King, Dist. Engineer 10 years 3 months ago #16835

• Rory
  • Rory's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thank you received: 2149
The story of Robert Fyfe King is not necessarily a unique one but, thanks in part to the wealth of material I have been able to uncover, one can gain a glimpse into the life of a man who sought employment in South Africa from the "Old Country" and whose adventures took him into the siege of Ladysmith where he became an intimate of Sir George White's. QSA's to civilians of substance are also quite rare. A fellow ABW Forumite who drops in from time to time will remember having once had this medal.

Robert Fyfe King M.I.D.

District Engineer, Public Works Department, Natal Civil Service

- Queens South Africa Medal to R. King, District Engineer

Robert King was born at Hamilton, near Glasgow on 5 November 1854 the son of William King, a gun maker by trade and his wife Elizabeth Forrest King, born Fyfe. King was educated at Hamilton and Edinburgh before taking for his wife Agnes Allan of Ardrie, on 3 December 1875 when a very youthful 21 years of age.

Prior to his arrival in South Africa he was the Manager-in-Chief for 15 years to Robert McAlpine & Sons of Glasgow, a Railway Contracting firm employing 7000 men.

According to that wonderful tome Twentieth Century Impressions of Natal, published in 1906, King was a brother of the late Mr. J.F. King, M.I.A. and came out to South Africa from the “Old Country” in 1890. Naturally there was a lot more to Robert King than this innocuous comment would suggest and the task I gave myself was to find out more about the man.