TOPIC:

Question from a new member 5 years 10 months ago #59311

• BEdwards
  • BEdwards's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh recruit
  • Fresh recruit
  • Thank you received: 0
Hi All,

Forgive me if this is a bit garbled - I am new to this and it has taken me some weeks to find out how to write a note to the forum, let alone send a photo. Be that as it is may, and i have just had to verify that I am not a robot some 7 times. So, here we go. I have a small collection of QSA's and a friend has asked me to see if I could find some details about a relation's involvement in the Boer conflict. The name is Private (later Sergeant) W Faulkner. The photos of the QSA and KSA show:
QSA : Def of Ladysmith, Laing Nek, Belfast
KSA : SA 1901, 1902
Edge impressed:
QSA : 5660 Pte W Faulkner Gordon Highrs
KSA : 5660 Sgt W Faulkner 60th J(?)GN Highrs
The awards seem to be in a box as issued. 
The problem is that all my attempts at getting any further with Faulkner have drawn a blank. Anyone any suggestions? By the way, brilliant site - thankyou,

Bill Edwards

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Question from a new member 5 years 10 months ago #59312

• LinneyI
  • Thank you received: 1541
Bill Edwards
Welcome to the site.  Of late, this site has been plagued with "bogeys" and verification is necessary to maintain the site's integrity.  I had a quick look in the casualty rolls for Pte/Sgt. W.Faulkner of the Gordons - and no entry.  Have you checked with one of the commercial sites for any papers which might have survived?  You may have to fall back on researching the circumstances of how the Gordons qualified for the three clasps on the QSA.  For example, Stirling's "Our Regiments in South Africa" relates the activities of 2nd GH during the Ladysmith siege and afterwards.
Good luck with your quest.
Regards
IL.  

Question from a new member 5 years 10 months ago #59330

• davidh
  • Thank you received: 246