• Page:

TOPIC:

The Armoured Train at Mafeking - Capt. A.H. Wallis 6 years 10 months ago #53708

• Rory
  • Rory's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thank you received: 2121
Alfred Harry Wallis, M.I.D.

Captain, Western Division, Southern Rhodesia Volunteers – Anglo Boer War
Captain and O.C. 1st Armoured Train – South African Rebellion (1914)
Captain, South African Engineer Corps – WWI (German South West Africa)
Lieutenant, 281 Railway Company, Royal Engineers – WWI

- Queens South Africa Medal with clasps Rhodesia and the Relief of Mafeking to Capt. A.H. Wallis, S. Rhod. Vol.
- 1914/15 Star to Capt. A.H. Wallis, S.A.E.C.
- British War Medal to Lieut. A.H. Wallis
- Victory Medal (unilingual) to Lieut. A.H. Wallis

Alfred Wallis was a highly intelligent man and a Civil Engineer by profession as events will show. Born on 28 December 1869 in the leafy suburb of Claremont, Cape Town he was the son of George Wallis, a highly respected Architect and Builder and his wife Agnes (born Hall). His baptism, in St. Saviour’s Church in Claremont came on 2 March 1870.

As a young man Wallis attended the well-known South African College School (S.A.C.S.) in Cape Town after which he obtained his first appointment in the Cape Civil Service on 12 Jan 1897 where he was an Engineering Assistant in the City Engineer’s Office, Cape Town.

At some point he transferred to the Cape Government Railways and was an Assistant Engineer, Construction with them from 1897 until 1901. Whist assigned to the Rhodesian system of Railways stationed at Bulawayo he joined the Western Division of the Southern Rhodesia Volunteers on 1 August 1899 being appointed as a Lieutenant.