Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

".. the shot passing through the heart." 7 years 2 months ago #51706

• Rory
  • Rory's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thank you received: 2151
Here's another of my Bethune's men. Fisher survived the war but died "by his own hand" the inquest referring to the incident as an accident. A sad way for a man to go.

Edward Seymour Fisher

Trooper, Bethune’s Mounted Infantry – Anglo Boer War

- Queens South Africa Medal with clasps Tugela Heights and Relief of Ladysmith to Tpr. E.S. Fisher, Bethune’s M.I.

Edward Fisher was a Colonial man born and bred in Cradock in the Eastern Cape region of South Africa. Born on 28 December 1870 he was a late Christmas present to his parents Henry Christopher Fisher, a Trader by profession, and his wife Anna Francis. He was then baptised on 26 March 1871 in the small dusty town of Ficksburg in the eastern Orange Free State (today the cherry capital of South Africa) which fell under the Inter-parochial Diocese of Bloemfontein and he would have been unaware that the very land upon which he stood was to be foreign territory in twenty nine years from then.

The Fisher family - no-one is quite sure if Edward is among this group or not

At some point he made the trek to Barberton in the Eastern Transvaal where he pursued the occupation of Electrician in that fast-growing town – reminiscent to many as the “Wild West” of the Transvaal. On 1 April 1896 the Barberton Hospital admittance register recorded that a 26 year old Fisher, Single, born in Cradock in the Cape Colony and a member of the Church of England was admitted for a Sprained Ankle and, having recovered, was discharged on 6 May 1896.