• Page:

TOPIC:

Royal Scots 10 years 6 months ago #15395

• SuBrouwer
  • SuBrouwer's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh recruit
  • Fresh recruit
  • Thank you received: 0
I am new to this and I'm trying to find info on one of my grandmothers brothers James (Jim) Vickers who stayed in Bolton while the rest went to Canada.

I'm pretty sure I have found his attestation papers for 1899 when he enlists in the militia and 49 days later goes to the Royal Scots Fus. Does anyone know if that was common for Bolton boys to sign up with that group?

I also found a record of a James Vickers who gets a medal in 1902 for South Africa, but it appears that he is in the 4th Battalion The Kings Liverpool. Was it possible that he was transferred to this group?

I'm sorry, but I'm new to this and I'm just trying to fill in the pieces of the puzzle. I'm pretty sure that he also signed up for WW1, but I suppose he would have a totally new number for that war.

Any advice is greatly appreciated!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Royal Scots 10 years 6 months ago #15406

• Frank Kelley
  • Thank you received: 954
Good evening and welcome to this forum,
Always start off with what you know that is factual, his correct name, date and place of birth, family etc, never just assume anything just because of an identical or similar name, do the personal details on the WO96 papers you mention, match what you already know?
Regarding the regiments, there is no quick single answer, for example, a man could be a native of, lets say London, he might be serving in the Bedfordshire Militia and then he could join the Manchester Regiment in London and within a day or two, be up at their depot in Ashton.
Start off with the family and then expand into WO96/97/363/364 etc.
Regards Frank Kelley
The following user(s) said Thank You: SuBrouwer

Royal Scots 10 years 6 months ago #15407

• SuBrouwer
  • Fresh recruit
  • Fresh recruit
Thanks Frank!