Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC:

Hello - researching William Joseph ZANNETTI 1879-1945 10 years 11 months ago #12209

• robccc
  • robccc's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh recruit
  • Fresh recruit
  • Thank you received: 0
Hi all

I am an amateur historian based in the Netherlands and am researching Italian migration to Kingston Upon Thames in the 19th Century. Attached is a photo of William Joseph ZANNETTI born in Kingston Upon Thames on 16/09/1879 to an Italian father and Northern Irish mother. Descendants of William tell me that he fought in both the Boer War and WW1. The uniform appears to be in keeping of a colonial campaign. Can anyone tell me more about William or identify his regiment. I'm grateful for any information you can provide. Many thanks

Rob
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Hello - researching William Joseph ZANNETTI 1879-1945 10 years 11 months ago #12210

• LinneyI
  • Thank you received: 1542
Rob
I suspect that others on this formum who are more at home with the rolls will be able to help more than I; however, the chap in the pic is wearing a webbing Mounted Infantry bandolier definitely from the ABW period and the rifle is a standard Magazine Lee Enfield ditto re period. This info doesn't help much - save to say that it puts the pic in/about the ABW period.
Good luck with your research.
IL.

Hello - researching William Joseph ZANNETTI 1879-1945 10 years 11 months ago #12211

• robccc
  • Fresh recruit
  • Fresh recruit
Thanks for the information Linneyl. I look forward to hearing from those with a better knowledge on the subject than I

Hello - researching William Joseph ZANNETTI 1879-1945 10 years 10 months ago #12216

• Rory
  • Thank you received: 2161
Hello Rob

The only Zanetti who fought in the Boer War (according to the medal rolls on Ancestry) was a P Zanetti who was with 1st Kitchener's Flying Scouts and the Scots Railway Guards.