Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

Lieutenants Harry Breaker Morant, Peter Handcock and George Witton 3 months 6 days ago #78312

• unkles
  • unkles's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh recruit
  • Fresh recruit
  • Thank you received: 6
Firstly, thank you for adding to this forum and web site. I hope I can make stimulating contributions to the history of the Boer War and Australia's involvement.
I am an experienced barrister and solicitor, having worked as a Police and Crown prosecutor and as a military lawyer. I have served in the RAN for about 40 years as a legal officer I first became involved in the case of Harry Morant this case in 2009.
I researched the history of Major James Francis Thomas, the Australian lawyer who defended Lieutenants Morant, Handcock and Witton on charges of killing Boer prisoners during the Boer War.
I published a book about Thomas; Ready, Aim, Fire - Major James Francis Thomas - The Fourth Victim in the Execution of Harry 'Breaker' Morant[
In my research, I discovered that Lieutenants Morant, Peter Handcock and Witton were not tried in accordance with military law of 1902 and suffered great injustice as a result. The convictions were unsafe and the sentences illegal as appeal was denied. I decided that a review process had to be initiated. The case had never been reviewed and despite extensive literature on the Boer war and the life of Morant, no one had ever examined the details of the trials, questioned the legitimacy of the evidence produced and the conduct of the trials.
In October 2009, I forwarded two petitions for review, one to the Australian House of Representatives Petitions Committee and the other to the Queen. I followed the petitions by lobbying Australian politicians and writing letters to the British government. I appeared before the House of Representatives Petitions Committee on 15 March 2010 that described the grounds for review as ‘strong and compelling’.