• Page:

TOPIC:

New Researcher of the Anglo-Boer War 2 years 9 months ago #77443

• Urquhart
  • Urquhart's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh recruit
  • Fresh recruit
  • Thank you received: 0
I am a new researcher of the Anglo-Boer War after discovering recently my great Uncle Private Fred Urquhart served in the Gloucestershire Regiment from 1900 to 1902 in South Africa. He and my family emigrated to the United States in 1906 on the same ship (SS Cymric) which transported his regiment to Capetown in January 1900. I look forward to learning more about his regiment and the war.
Thanks,
Justin
Justin Baer
Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

New Researcher of the Anglo-Boer War 2 years 9 months ago #77444

• LinneyI
  • Thank you received: 1536
Justin
Welcome to the Forum. I am sure that there are many here who will only be to happy to field your questions. In Stirling's "Our Regiments in South Africa" there is a potted history of the doings of the 2nd Gloucestershire Regt. to give some background. As a matter of interest, the Palmer casualty roll shows one "3370 Pte. F.R. Urquhart" of 2 Glosters who was Pow at Dewetsdorp on 22/11/00 and marked as Released 5 December. Is that your GU?
Regards
IL.
The following user(s) said Thank You: djb, Urquhart

New Researcher of the Anglo-Boer War 2 years 9 months ago #77448

• djb
  • Administrator
  • Administrator
  • Thank you received: 4508
Welcome Justin,

Like IL, I have found 3370 Pte Frederick Robert Urquhart, 2nd Gloucesters.

He earned the QSA (3) Paarderberg Driefontein and Relief of Kimberley and the KSA with 2 clasps.

The history of the two battalions of Gloucesters is here: www.angloboerwar.com/unit-information/im...cestershire-regiment

He was born in 1873 in Manchester.

There are service papers available for him. These are available at cost from FindMyPast.

Best wishes
David
Dr David Biggins
The following user(s) said Thank You: Urquhart