TOPIC:

Sailor to solider? 5 years 4 days ago #62938

• Kernow
  • Kernow's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh recruit
  • Fresh recruit
  • Thank you received: 0
Hi,
I am new to researching military history, so forgive me if my questions seem really stupid.

Is it possible for a sailor to become a soldier?

My ancestor Washington Butchard (variously spelt) born circa 1860, London, seems to have been a sailor from the 30th November 1873 (errand boy) 31st December 1883, serving on various vessels Fishguard, Duke of Wellington and Hector to name but a few.

Then he seems to have become a soldier who died in The Battle of Ladysmith on the 24th January 1900. Service number 809.

Is this possible? Would, could there be two people with such a distinct name.

Any help or advice would be gratefully received. Thank you

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Sailor to solider? 5 years 4 days ago #62939

• QSAMIKE
  • Thank you received: 1873
Yes it is possible to go from sailor to soldier and vice versa, I have one group that went from Army Private to Navy Paymaster Commander...…

Mike

P.S. I guess you have this from FMP...….

First name(s) William
Last name Butchart
Service number 809
Rank Private
Regiment Imperial Light Infantry
Rolls WO100/252 page 14
Memorials Imperial Light Infantry memorial, Spion Kop, Natal, South Africa
Literary references The National Archives WO127. Nominal rolls colonial units.
Biography
-
Notes
[The National Archives WO100. The QSA and KSA campaign medal rolls.] & [The National Archives WO127. Nominal rolls colonial units.] [Natal Field Force. JB Hayward & Sons] Butchard [Anglo-Boer War Memorials Project] Butchardt QSA Clasps: RoL

Event detail Killed on 24/01/1900 at Spion Kop
Event unit Imperial Light Infantry
Event source NFF

Gazetteer