TOPIC:

Dereham Soldiers - 2nd Boer War 6 years 10 months ago #53641

• Kitty55
  • Kitty55's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh recruit
  • Fresh recruit
  • Thank you received: 7
Hi
I've already been researching how many soldiers went from my local town and have so far found 34. I know from a newspaper report that just over 40 went but don't seem to be able to find the rest. So ...

1. Does anyone have any ideas other than searching the usual online sites - i.e. FMP, Ancestry, Genes Reunited, N&MA, FWR, etc. to find them?

AND

2. If anyone is looking for a relative who fought in this part of the war and they came from or lived in East Dereham, Norfolk then I may be able to help them further - all they have to do is ask - I've been researching my local town's history for 50 years next year and so have accumulated quite a lot of information on various places and people.

thanks and take care, Kitty
Interested in anything to do with East Dereham, Norfolk UK. - 3rdVBNR, 5th Norfolks, RAMC etc. Including soldiers from out of town who were stationed in town during a war period.
Worked as trained researcher.
Personal - married to Kenny (42y), mother of 3, nanny of 5 and owner of Percy, the Westie....

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Dereham Soldiers - 2nd Boer War 6 years 10 months ago #53644

• QSAMIKE
  • Thank you received: 1873
Good Afternoon Kitty.......

Good work and......
Thank you for the offer of help......
Is there any chance that you could list the names that you have found as there may be some medals in collections......

Mike
Life Member
Past-President Calgary
Military Historical Society
O.M.R.S. 1591
The following user(s) said Thank You: Kitty55

Dereham Soldiers - 2nd Boer War 6 years 10 months ago #53660

• Kitty55
  • Kitty55's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh recruit
  • Fresh recruit
  • Thank you received: 7
Hi