TOPIC:

Mike Walker 12 years 2 months ago #1864

• mikewalker
  • mikewalker's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh recruit
  • Fresh recruit
  • Thank you received: 3
Hi everyone,
I am a retired teacher living in Somerset.
My grandfather - George Henry Burn from Shirley, Warwicks. fought in the Boer War.
I have found a photo in the family album which shows him sitting with a group of officers.
I am trying to discover where he fought and what regiment/batallion he fought with.
Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Congratulations on such a fine resource!
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: Mike Walker 12 years 2 months ago #1866

• thedevoniun
  • Fresh recruit
  • Fresh recruit
  • Thank you received: 0
:) Hi Mike
I am also a Walker what's the odds on that on the same day?
All I have to work on is two Medals one QV & one Edward VII and the letters M.P.R.F.F could be something to do with the Police.
best wishes
robert walker B)

Re: Mike Walker 12 years 2 months ago #1869

• Mark Wilkie
  • Thank you received: 45

mikewalker wrote: Hi everyone,
I am a retired teacher living in Somerset.
My grandfather - George Henry Burn from Shirley, Warwicks. fought in the Boer War.
I have found a photo in the family album which shows him sitting with a group of officers.
I am trying to discover where he fought and what regiment/batallion he fought with.
Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Congratulations on such a fine resource!

Hello Mike, welcome aboard !
Here's a possible match. There was a Pte. George Henry Burn [No.20964] in the 16th(Worcestershire) Company, 5th Battalion, Imperial Yeomanry. He seems to be the only GH Burn on the Queen South Africa Medal (QSA) rolls that I can find [QSA with Cape Colony, Orange Free State, Transvaal, South Africa 1901 & South Africa 1902 clasps]. The roll says GH Burn but I checked elsewhere and found his name was George Henry Burn. The 16th Coy was raised in 1900.