Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

Free State burghers in the British Colonial Forces 12 years 5 months ago #1382

• FSburgher
  • FSburgher's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thank you received: 12
I'm new to this wonderful forum, and live in Welkom in the Free State Province; I hope to learn from fellow contributors and at the same time make a positive contribution to the issues and questions asked by subscribers. Actions, individuals and Boer War events in the Northern Free State are my primary interest.:)
My Great Grandfather Alfred Leo Whitfield was Sargeant Major in the Kroonstad Scouts, and I'd like more info about this particular unit. His brother D.R. Whitfield served in the Kimberley TG and lived for years after the BW in Klerksdorp. Please contact me. Tkx Evyn

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: Free State burghers in the British Colonial Forces 12 years 5 months ago #1386

• Mark Wilkie
  • Thank you received: 45
Hi Evyn, good to have you on board. Your Great Grandfather sounds a very interesting man. It appeared he started the war fighting as a Boer but switched sides after the Boers burnt down his farm because he was "English." This treatment prompted him to join the British and he is credited with raising the Kroonstad Scouts which was run along the lines as a "Boer Commando" using guerrilla tactics to fight the Boers.

I had a quick look on the QSA roster for him but wasn't able to turn up anything on his QSA. However, I see his name appears on the Boer War Casualty lists. He is listed as having died in Kroonstad on 22 Feb 1901. I also found an article on him in Rootsweb:
archiver.rootsweb.ancestry.com/th/read/S...E/2011-03/1300388220

I found Pte. D.Whitfield's in the Kimberley TG QSA roster showing QSA with Defence of Kimberley clasp.

Cheers,

Mark

Re: Free State burghers in the British Colonial Forces 12 years 5 months ago #1387

• Brett Hendey
  • Thank you received: 740