TOPIC:

Royal Horse Artillery 9 years 6 months ago #23105

• DavidG-Author
  • DavidG-Author's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh recruit
  • Fresh recruit
  • Thank you received: 0
Hello,
I am a Historical Fiction author - and my latest project is a novel set in the Boer War - (a subject few publishers are interested in by the way) but I have always been fascinated by the conflict. I also lived in South Africa for a number of years and visited quite a few areas where the conflict took place.
Although I write fiction I like to get my details correct -often these are small details - and sometimes no more than a sentence. I am looking for help with a couple of issues and hope that a Forum reader/contributor might be kind enough to advise or guide me towards a satisfactory answer.

I am ex-infantry so don't know much about artillery - any gunners out there who can help me? In the Boer War the RHA used 12 pounders with a #56 Blue Fuze. I know the 12 pounder is breech loaded but is the ordinance a 'shell' and how is the 'time' (fuze) set?

My ignorance is acute - but any help would be appreciated.

AngloBoerWar is a valuable site and adds to my modest library of SA War books.
Thanks in advance.
DavidG-Author

My question is:

I am at the point where I have determined

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Royal Horse Artillery 9 years 6 months ago #23108

• rotarykempy
  • Fresh recruit
  • Fresh recruit
I have recently read 'The Boer War' by Thomas Pakenham and it is a very good readable history even by people by me who are completely ignorant on the subject.

Royal Horse Artillery 9 years 6 months ago #23110

• DavidG-Author
  • Fresh recruit
  • Fresh recruit