Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

W.T.J. Broughton 6004 Trooper Imperial Yeomanry Scouts ?? 7 years 7 months ago #48684

• 142bravo
  • 142bravo's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh recruit
  • Fresh recruit
  • Thank you received: 2
Hello I am a new member so I do hope that I have got this done correctly if not my apologizes to all.

I am trying to figure out if a QSA medal I have is spurious with respect to it's naming (which I believe it to be) or correct with some erasures by it's owner. I am a novice in the field of medals.

The QSA has 4 clasps: South Africa 1902 - Transvaal - Orange Free State - Cape Colony and while on an original ribbon has had a modern broach pin sewn on.

The rim is impressed named: W.T.J. BROUGHTON with earasing of the RANK and partial Reg Nos. leaving clearly the last numbers 004. It is stamped DRISCOLL'S SCTS.

Checking the Surname on the site I did find a William Thomas John BROUGHTON Tpr. 6004 Imperial Yeomanry Scouts on the nominal roll of the I.Y. Scouts.

Checking the roll of DRISCOLL's SCOUTS I did find a John BROUGHTON 22763

Confused yes for sure - the QSA was acquired here in Canada for part of a small display of Boer War items I have. I am trying to find out any information good or bad that may help me understand what this medal is or why it does not conform to the nominal rolls. I am in the process of tracking down a nice researched KSA/QSA pair for my display - but for me this one has remained a big question mark since I got it for display.

I am also curious if the clasps are correct or not and what would be the correct unit for Tpr BROUGHTON if he is not on the nominal roll of the DRISCOLL'S SCOUTS??

I understand that certainly in WW1 medals some soldiers did erase the official impressed ranks - no doubt unhappy with the rank which appeared on their official medals after being demoted somewhere in their service .