Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC:

Private to Major E.F. Lynn a Jiffy Bag Dance...... 8 years 11 months ago #26842

• QSAMIKE
  • QSAMIKE's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thank you received: 1873
Good Afternoon Everyone......

Just rec'd the following in the afternoon post.....

Had a major dance, well as best I could......

Will post some pictures and the write up that came with the medals, more to follow as I dig into this fantastic man.....

Mike

MAJOR EDISON FRANKLIN LYNN

Distinguished Service Order GV, Military Cross GV, Queen’s South Africa Medal clasps Cape Colony, Paardeburg, Driefontein, 1914/15 Star, British War & Victory Medals with Mentioned in Despatches Oakleaf to Major Edison Franklin Lynn Canadian Engineers late Royal Canadian Regiment. Lynn was born in Sidney Township, Hastings County, Ontario, Canada a Civil Engineer by profession, his diary for the Boer War 1899 to 1901 (103 pages) was published by Belleville, Ontario shortly after the War. Awarded the Military Cross for the defence of Gravenstafel Ridge Ypres 22nd to 23rd April 1915 and the DSO for the attack on Hill 70 on 15th August 1917, he was also twice Mentioned in Despatches. His personal diary and papers covering his service on the Western Front 1916 to 1919 are deposited in the Imperial War Museum Archives, he died in Hampstead, London in 1960.

Distinguished Service Order GV - Major E F Lynn Hill 70 August 15th, 1917
Military Cross GV - Major E F Lynn Ypres April 1915
Q.S.A. - 7509 Pte F Lynn Rl Candn Regt - Cape Colony, Paardeburg, Driefontein
1914/15 Star - Lieut E F Lynn Can Eng
British War & Victory Medals with MID Oakleaf - Major E F Lynn

Edison Franklin Lynn was born 17th June 1881 in Sidney Township, Hastings County, Ontario, Canada a Civil Engineer he served in the Boer War and published his diary (130 pages). He enlisted at Valcartier, Quebec 24th September 1914.